Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario, Conseil régional des Mille-Îles

Speaker Series: One City, Two Realities

A meeting between anglos and francos 50 years after the Official Languages Act. 

ACFOMI is committed to the development, and vitality of Kingston’s Francophone community and the Thousand Island region.

ACFOMI is organizing a speaker’s series entitled: “One city two realities: A meeting between anglos and francos 50 years after the Official Languages Act”.

The series begins September 9th, 2019 with 17 themes that will take place over a two year period.  All speaker’s series will be recorded and  made available in Podcast on our Web Site. 

Prestigious guest speakers are invited to each session that will take place in both official languages to discuss topics that include: politics, culture, healthcare, family life, gastronomy, etc.

The Kingston Frontenac Public Library in historic downtown Kingston will host the speaker’s series in their newly renovated facilities.

This series is recommended for members of the public able to understand both official languages. 

This project will be recorded as a podcast and available as a free download from the ACFOMI website.

PODCAST

Theme 1: The history of the Official Languages Act and services available in French

by ACFOMI | One City, Two Realities: discussions between anglos and francos 50 years after the French Languages Act

Theme 2: Anglophone & Francophone Canadian Literature and Poetry

by ACFOMI | One City, Two Realities: discussions between Anglos and Francos 50 years after the Official Languages Act

Theme 3: The choice of a Francophone, Immersion, or English School

by ACFOMI | One City, Two Realities: discussions between Anglos and Francos 50 years after the Official Languages Act

Theme 4: The Linguistic Duality Among Seniors

by ACFOMI | One City, Two Realities: discussions between Anglos and Francos 50 years after the Official Languages Act

Themes

September 9th 2019 - Theme 1: The history of the Official Languages Act and the services available in French

 

The speakers:

 

Stéphanie Chouinard (PhD) grew up in Labrador. She holds a doctorate from the School of Political Studies of the University of Ottawa. She is the recipient of the Vanier Scholarship from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the recipient of the Baxter and Alma Ricard Foundation Scholarship. She completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Montreal and the University of Edinburgh before obtaining a position as an Assistant Professor of Political Science at the Royal Military College of Canada in Kingston in January 2017. Since 2018, she has been co-affiliated with Queen’s University. Her research focuses on federalism and the rights of linguistic minorities as well as indigenous Canadians.

Kevin Brushett (PhD) is a graduate of Queen’s University and teaches at the Royal Military College of Canada in the fields of Canadian and American history. Currently he is the Department Chair. His research focuses on the relationship between civil society organizations and the Canadian state in the late 20th century. He is currently finalizing a book on the Company of Young Canadians a government sponsored community development organization that operated between 1965 and 1975. He is also researching the relationship between CSOs and the Canadian International Development Agency in sponsoring community development programs in the Global South between 1965 and 1985. Dr Brushett is the president of the Canadian International History Committee, and member of the Canadian Network for Humanitarian History, and the Interuniversity research group on the Quebec of the Sixties and its External Relations (GRIQUERE).

The Host: 

Frédéric Pepin is a video journalist for CBC/Radio-Canada since 2010, and has been working out of Kingston since 2013. His work in the field leads him to cover an array of current events.

September 26th, 2019 - Theme 2: Canadian Literature and Poetry Anglophone vs. Francophone

The speakers: 

Bianca Côté was born in Montreal where she obtained her Master’s in literary studies. She has published several stories including Carnets d’une habituée in 1998, and a book of poetry entitled Un mandala dans une benne à ordures (2015). Occasional editor, production manager, proofreader and copywriter, she has worked for many years in publishing. She has also been the Program officer for the Canada Council of Arts. Since 2008, she has been teaching French as a second language to the Royal Military College of Canada in Kingston

 Eric Folsom is a Kingston poet who has long been active in the city’s literary community.  He worked for more than twenty years as a Library Assistant at the Kingston Frontenac Public Library, and helped edit the small literary magazines Next Exit and Quarry in the Eighties and Nineties.  He has published four books of poetry, mostly recently “Le Loutre: a Poetry Narrative”, which examines the Grand Dérangement of Acadia.  Born in the United States, he came to Montréal in 1969 as student at McGill.  He learned to love the complexity of Canada and has been a dual citizen since 1993.

 

The Host:

 

Johanne Bénard is a professor in the French Studies Department at Queen’s, where she teaches French and Francophone literature of the XXth century since 1989. She is also interested by contemporary literature and theatre.

October 9, 2019 - Theme 3: Education - the choice of Francophone, Immersion or Anglophone schooling

The speakers:

Catherine Lord is from a unilingual home in Quebec. During a language exchange in Venezuela, she discovered her passion for learning languages and the different cultures that accompany them. Shortly after her travels, she began her studies at St. Thomas University in New-Brunswick. Since then, she has studied Italian, German, Portuguese, and Catalan. In her role as a French instructor at the Royal Military College, Catherine specializes in communication with her cadets who must become bilingual. She obtained her master’s from Queen’s University in 2012. Her thesis focuses on migrant writing in Quebec.

Sarah Lasko is a former core French student turned Francophile. She grew up in small town Southern Ontario when French immersion was not an option.  Her experience as an exchange student in Quebec planted the seed for her to further her education in French at Queen’s University. Sarah shares that same delight in learning a second language with her students. She has taught immersion and core French in the elementary panel, in both rural and urban settings for several school boards in Ontario.  She currently teaches Grade 7 students who are new to French immersion with the Limestone DSB using language as a path to further her students’ Canadian understanding and identity.  Her own four children attend Francophone schools and self-identify as Franco-Ontarians.

The Host:

Eric Galarneau is a community builder and proud Franco-Kingstonian. He sits on various boards of directors. It seeks to improve the cause of La Francophonie. He is also fond of social media. Eric has been involved in the education sector for twenty years. He is currently working as a Cultural Facilitator at Mille-Îles Public High School.

November 6th, 2019 at 18:45 - Theme 4: Linguistic duality among seniors

The speakers: 

Born in Ottawa in 1956, Marie-Noël St-Cyr, studied History and Human Sciences at Glendon College, York University. In 1981, she graduated with a Bachelor of Education degree and began teaching French-language students at Regiopolis-Notre Dame Catholic High School in Kingston, Ontario. It’s from her role as an educator that will give rise to what will become French Language Module at Marie-Rivier Catholic High School. Between 1987 and 2014, Ms. St-Cyr steered the destiny of the growing school, with a whole series of valuable collaborators, and several generations of students. Since her retirement, Ms. St-Cyr has worked hard to help her community, the St-François-d’Assise Parish and as a substitute teacher at Marie-Rivier Catholic High School.

Dolorès Cléroux is from Montréal and settled in Kingston some 40 years ago. Her two children were born in Kingston but are now living in Québec, and the USA. Dolorès first studied Language and Linguistics, and then Education at Queen’s University while she taught French Second Language and worked as a translator. Retired since 2016, her days are filled with playful activities and charitable work when she is not travelling.

Lieutenant-Colonel (Retired) Jean Lord joined the Canadian Forces as an Artillery Officer in 1970. He served in Cyprus, Germany, the United Kingdom, Ottawa, ValCartier and Kingston. From 1995 to his retirement from the Canadian Forces in 2005, he taught at the Royal Military College of Canada, Kingston, where he stayed as an Assistant Professor and Head of the Language Centre until 2014. He was a Member of the Board of Directors of the South East Local Health Integration Network (SE LHIN) from January 2017until the Board was dissolved in 2019. He is now the Vice-President of the Board of Directors of le Centre Culturel Frontenac (CCF).

The Host:

Johanne Bénard is a professor in the French Studies Department at Queen’s, where she teaches French and Francophone literature of the XXth century since 1989. She is also interested by contemporary literature and theatre.

December 4th, 2019 at 18:45 - Theme 5: Local, Regional and Provincial politics – How are Francophones better served?

  Location: The Kingston Frontenac Public Library, 130 Johnson St, Kingston, ON K7L 1X8

Reserve your free tickets on Eventbrite

For more information, you can contact ACFOMI at:
info@acfomi.org or 613-546-7863

Our services are funded by:

Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario, Conseil régional des Mille-Îles

Follow us:

Contact us:

Barriefield Centre
760, Highway 15,
Kingston, ON K7L 0C3

(613) 546-7863
1(800) 561-4695 (toll-free)
Fax: 613 546-4695

  info@acfomi.org

Hours of operation:

Monday: 8:30am – 6:00pm
Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday: 8:30am – 4:30pm
Friday: 8:30am – 3:00pm

Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario, Conseil régional des Mille-Îles

Série de dialogues: Une ville, deux réalités

Rencontres entre les anglos et les francos après 50 ans de la loi sur les langues officielles 

L’ACFO Mille-Îles œuvre au développement, à l’épanouissement et à la vitalité de la communauté francophone de la ville de Kingston et la région des Mille-Îles.

L’ACFO Mille-Îles organise une série de dialogues intitulée : « Une ville, deux réalités : rencontres entre les anglos et les francos après 50 ans de la loi sur les langues officielles ».  

La série démarre en septembre 2019 avec 17 thèmes répartis sur une période de deux ans.  Toutes les sessions de discussion seront enregistrées et disponibles en baladodiffusion sur notre site Web.

Des conférenciers sans pareil seront invités pour chaque session de discussion, qui se dérouleront dans les langues officielles du Canada. Chaque discussion portera sur un thème particulier : la politique, la culture, la santé, la famille, la gastronomie, etc.

La bibliothèque publique de Kingston Frontenac dans le centre ville historique accueillera la série de dialogues dans un cadre exceptionnel.

Cette série est ouverte au public ayant une compréhension des deux langues officielles du Canada, l’anglais et le français.

Ce projet sera enregistré sous forme de baladodiffusion et disponible pour télécharger gratuitement sur le site web d’ACFOMI.

Thème 1 : L'historique de la Loi sur les langues officielles et sur les services en français

by ACFOMI | Une ville, deux réalités : rencontres entre les anglos et les francos 50 ans après la Loi sur les langues officielles

Thème 2 : La littérature et la poésie canadienne francophone et anglophone

by ACFOMI | Une ville, deux réalités : rencontres entre les anglos et les francos 50 ans après la Loi sur les langues officielles

Thème 3 : l'éducation - le choix entre d'une école francophone, d'immersion, ou anglophone

by ACFOMI | Une ville, deux réalités : rencontres entre les anglos et les francos 50 ans après la Loi sur les langues officielles

Thème 4 : La dualité linguistique chez les aînés

by ACFOMI | Une ville, deux réalités : rencontres entre les anglos et les francos 50 ans après la Loi sur les langues officielles

Thèmes

9 septembre 2019 - Thème 1 : L'historique de la Loi sur les langues officielles et les services en Français

Les conférenciers :

Stéphanie Chouinard (PhD) a grandi au Labrador.  Elle détient un doctorat de l’École d’études politiques de l’Université d’Ottawa. Elle a été récipiendaire de la bourse Vanier du Conseil de recherche en sciences humaines du Canada et de la bourse de la Fondation Baxter et Alma Ricard. Elle est professeure adjointe de science politique au Collège militaire royal du Canada à Kingston depuis 2017. Depuis 2018, elle est co-affiliée à l’Université Queen’s. Ses recherches portent sur le fédéralisme et les droits des minorités linguistiques et des autochtones.

M. Kevin Brushett est diplomé de l’Université Queen’s et il enseinge de l’histoire moderne du Canada et des États-Unis. Il est aussi chef du département. Les recherches du M. Brushett portent sur la relation entre les organisations de la société civile et l’état au Canada dans la deuxième moitié du 20e siècle. Présentement, il est en train de rédiger une étude de la Compagnie des Jeunes Canadiens, un organisme communautaire de développement parrainé par le gouvernement fédéral entre 1965 et 1975. Aussi, Il a commencé sur un projet qui examine les relations entre les ONG et de l’Agence canadienne de développement international, qui a parrainé des programmes de développement communautaire dans les pays du Sud entre 1965 et 1985. M. Brushett est la president du Comité d’histoire internationale du Canada, et membre du Réseau canadien pour l’histoire humanitaire et le Groupe de Recherche Interuniversitaire sur le Québec des années soixante et son relations extérieures (GRIQUERE).

l’Animateur

Frédéric Pepin est vidéojournaliste pour CBC/Radio-Canada depuis 2010 et il travaille à Kingston depuis 2013. Son travail sur le terrain l’amène à couvrir des sujets variés qui traitent de l’actualité quotidienne.

Le 26 septembre, 2019 - Thème 2 : La littérature et la poésie canadienne francophone et anglophone

Les conférenciers : 

Bianca Côté est née à Montréal, où elle a obtenu une maîtrise en études littéraires. Elle a publié quatre récits, dont Carnets d’une habituée, paru en 1998 et un recueil de poésie, Un mandala dans une benne à ordures (2015). Tour à tour réviseure, responsable de la production, correctrice d’épreuves et collaboratrice à la rédaction, elle a travaillé de nombreuses années dans le domaine de l’édition. Elle a également été agente de programme au Conseil des Arts du Canada. Depuis 2008, elle enseigne le français langue seconde au Collège militaire royal du Canada à Kingston.

 

Eric Folsom is a Kingston poet who has long been active in the city’s literary community.  He worked for more than twenty years as a Library Assistant at the Kingston Frontenac Public Library, and helped edit the small literary magazines Next Exit and Quarry in the Eighties and Nineties.  He has published four books of poetry, mostly recently « Le Loutre: a Poetry Narrative », which examines the Grand Dérangement of Acadia.  Born in the United States, he came to Montréal in 1969 as student at McGill.  He learned to love the complexity of Canada and has been a dual citizen since 1993.

 l’Animatrice :

Johanne Bénard est professeure au Département d’études françaises de l’Université Queen’s, où elle enseigne la littérature française et francophone du XXe siècle depuis 1989. Elle s’intéresse aussi à la littérature et au théâtre contemporain.

Le 9 octobre, 2019 - Thème 3 : L'Éducation, le choix d'une école francophone, d'immersion, ou anglophone

Les Conférenciers

 

Catherine Lord est issue d’un milieu unilingue à Québec. Durant un séjour linguistique au Venezuela, elle a découvert sa passion pour l’apprentissage des langues, ainsi que pour les différentes cultures qui les accompagnent. Peu après son retour de voyage, elle a commencé ses études au Nouveau-Brunswick, à St. Thomas University. Depuis lors, elle a aussi ajouté à son arc l’italien, l’allemand, le portugais et le catalan.  Dans son poste d’instructrice de français au Collège militaire royal, Catherine se spécialise dans la communication orale auprès d’élèves-officiers qui doivent devenir bilingues. Elle a obtenu une maîtrise à Queen’s en 2012. Son mémoire se penche sur l’écriture migrante au Québec.

 

Sarah Lasko est une ancienne élève du français langue seconde qui est devenue une Francophile. Elle a grandi dans une petite communauté dans le sud de l’Ontario où le français d’immersion n’étais pas une option. Son expérience comme étudiante d’échange au Québec l’a incitée à poursuivre ses études en français à l’Université Queen’s. Sarah partage son enthousiasme d’apprendre une deuxième langue avec ses élèves. Elle a enseigné l’immersion et le français langue seconde à l’élémentaire, en milieu urbain et rural pour plusieurs conseils scolaires de l’Ontario. En ce moment, elle enseigne en 7e année à des nouveaux élèves d’immersion au conseil scolaire Limestone, en utilisant la langue comme une voie pour aider ses élèves à mieux comprendre l’identité canadienne. Ses quatre enfants sont scolarisés dans une école francophone et s’identifient comme des Franco-Ontariens. 

l’Animateur

Eric Galarneau est bâtisseur communautaire et fier Franco-Kingstonien. Il siège d’ailleurs sur différents conseils d’administration. Il cherche à améliorer la cause de la Francophonie. Il est aussi friand des médias sociaux. Éric s’implique dans le milieu de l’éducation depuis une vingtaine d’année.  Il travaille présentement comme agent d’animation culturelle à l’école secondaire publique Mille-Îles.

Le 6 novembre, 2019 - 18 h 45 : Thème 4 : La dualité linguistique chez les aînés

Les Conférenciers 

Née à Ottawa en 1956, chansonnière au secondaire, à Toronto, Marie-Noël St-Cyr a fait des études en histoire et sciences humaines au Collège Glendon de l’Université York.  En 1981, elle obtient son baccalauréat en éducation et se lance dans l’enseignement des élèves de langue française au sein de Regiopolis-Notre Dame Catholic High School, à Kingston, Ontario.

C’est de ce poste qu’elle enfante ce qui passera de Module de langue française, à Entité de langue française à l’École secondaire catholique Marie-Rivier, en bordure du champ de football de Regiopolis-Notre Dame puis, sur son propre site au Centre scolaire-communautaire sur l’avenue Dalton.

Entre 1987 et 2014, Madame St-Cyr pilotera les destinés de l’école en croissance, avec toute une série de précieux collaborateurs et collaboratrices, et plusieurs générations d’élèves aussi travaillants, espiègles que surprenants et talentueux.

Depuis sa retraite, Madame St-Cyr s’ingénie à faire œuvre utile auprès de sa communauté, de la Paroisse St-François-d’Assise et en tant qu’enseignante suppléante à l’école secondaire catholique Marie-Rivier.

 

Dolorès Cléroux est originaire de Montréal et est établie à Kingston depuis près de quarante ans. Ses deux enfants sont nés ici mais sont maintenant établis, l’une au Québec et l’autre aux États-Unis.  Dolorès a d’abord étudié en langues et plus tard en éducation à l’Université Queen’s, et a travaillé dans l’enseignement du français langue seconde et en traduction.  Retraitée depuis 2016, ses journées sont bien remplies d’activités ludiques et caritatives ainsi que de voyages.  

 

Lieutenant-colonel (à la retraite) Jean Lord a joint les Forces Canadiennes en 1970 comme officier d’artillerie. Il a servi à Chypre, en Allemagne, en Angleterre, à Ottawa, à Val Cartier et à Kingston. De 1995 jusqu’à sa retraite des Forces canadiennes en 2005, il a enseigné au Collège militaire Royal du Canada, à Kingston. Il y est ensuite demeuré comme professeur adjoint et directeur du centre des langues jusqu’en 2014. Il fut membre du CA du Réseau Local d’Intégration des Services de Santé (RLISS) du sud-est de 2017 jusqu’à sa dissolution en mars 2019. Il est présentement le vice-président du CA du Centre Culturel Frontenac (CCF).

l’Animatrice

Johanne Bénard est professeure au Département d’études françaises de l’Université Queen’s, où elle enseigne la littérature française et francophone du XXe siècle depuis 1989. Elle s’intéresse aussi à la littérature et au théâtre contemporain.

Le 4 décembre, 2019 - 18 h 45 : Thème 5 : La politique locale, régionale et provinciale - comment les francophones sont-ils mieux servis?

  Lieu: La bibliothèque publique de Kingston Frontenac, 130 rue Johnson, Kingston, ON K7L 1X8

Réserver vos places gratuites sur Eventbrite

Pour plus de renseignements, vous pouvez nous joindre:
info@acfomi.org ou 613-546-7863

Nos services sont subventionnés par:

Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario, Conseil régional des Mille-Îles

Suivez-nous sur:

Contactez-nous:

Barriefield Centre
760, Highway 15,
Kingston, ON K7L 0C3

(613) 546-7863
1(800) 561-4695 (sans frais)
Fax: 613 546-4695

  info@acfomi.org

Heures d'ouverture:

Lundi: 8h30 à 18h00
Mardi, mercredi et jeudi: 8h30 à 16h30
Vendredi: 8h30 à 15h00